Feb 16, 2012

Members’ News: March 2012

US National Academy of Engineering elects members
The United States National Academy of Engineering has announced its new members for 2012. Congratulations to IMS members Peter W. Glynn (Thomas W. Ford Professor and chair, management science and engineering department, Stanford University) and Michael S. Waterman (University Professor, USC Associates Chair in Natural Sciences, and professor of biological sciences, computer science, and mathematics, College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences, University of Southern California, Los Angeles). Peter was selected for “contributions to simulation methodology and stochastic modeling,” and Michael for “development of computational methods for DNA and protein sequence analyses.” The full list of members is at http://www8.nationalacademies.org/onpinews/newsitem.aspx?RecordID=02092012

American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has elected 539 Fellows for their contributions to science and technology. Among them were several IMS Fellows and/or members.
In the Section on Mathematics was Claudia Neuhauser, University of Minnesota Rochester, and in the Section on Statistics were: George Casella, University of Florida; Dipak K. Dey, University of Connecticut; Wing Kam Fung, University of Hong Kong; Sastry G. Pantula, National Science Foundation; and Xiaotong Shen, University of Minnesota.

Elected members of ISI
The International Statistical Institute elected 17 new members in the third round of 2011, among whom were five IMS members: Jiti Gao, Stefano Iacus, Ranjan Maitra, Axel Munk, and Haiyan Wang. The list is at http://isi-web.org/membership/membership-elections-2011-round-3.

Spiegelman Award
The 2011 Mortimer Spiegelman Award was presented in November to Sudipto Banerjee, University of Minnesota. The award, given annually since 1970, is presented to an outstanding public health statistician under the age of 40. Sudipto Banerjee was recognized for contributions to spatial and environmental statistics. The committee also acknowledged his leadership and strong success in external funding, PhD supervision, short course instruction, software development, and journal editing and refereeing.
See the call for nominations for the 2012 award here.

New IMS Program Secretary
IMS Council has approved the appointment of Judith Rousseau as IMS Program Secretary for a term of July 12, 2012 to August 10, 2015. She will replace Guenther Walther on the Executive Committee, following his four years of service. Judith is a professor at Ceremade at the Université Paris Dauphine: see her webpage at http://www.ceremade.dauphine.fr/~rousseau/.


Leave a comment




Welcome to the IMS Bulletin website! We are developing the way we communicate news and information more effectively with members. The print Bulletin is still with us (free with IMS membership), and still available as a PDF to download, but in addition, we are placing some of the news, columns and articles on this blog site, which will allow you the opportunity to interact more. We are always keen to hear from IMS members, and encourage you to write articles and reports that other IMS members would find interesting. Contact the IMS Bulletin at bulletin@imstat.org

What is “Open Forum”?

In the Open Forum, any IMS member can propose a topic for discussion. Email your subject and an opening paragraph (to bulletin@imstat.org) and we'll post it to start off the discussion. Other readers can join in the debate by commenting on the post. Search other Open Forum posts by using the Open Forum category link below. Start a discussion today!

About IMS

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics is an international scholarly society devoted to the development and dissemination of the theory and applications of statistics and probability. We have about 4,500 members around the world. Visit IMS at http://imstat.org
Latest Issue