Apr 2, 2012

Awards: nominate or apply now

AWM Humphreys Award
Deadline: April 30, 2012

The Executive Committee of the Association for Women in Mathematics has established a prize in memory of M. Gweneth Humphreys to recognize outstanding mentorship activities. This prize will be awarded annually to a mathematics teacher (female or male) who has encouraged female undergraduate students to pursue mathematical careers and/or the study of mathematics at the graduate level. The recipient will receive a cash prize and honorary plaque and will be featured in an article in the AWM newsletter. The award is open to all regardless of nationality and citizenship. Nominees must be alive at the time of their nomination.
The 2013 Humphreys Award will be presented at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in San Diego, CA, January 2013.
Check the list of required nomination materials at http://sites.google.com/site/awmmath/programs/humphreys-award
Nomination materials for this award should be compiled into one PDF file and submitted online at https://www.mathprograms.org/db/programs/124 by April 30, 2012.

AWM Hay Award
Deadline: April 30, 2012

The Association for Women in Mathematics established the Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education, awarded annually to a woman at the Joint Prize Session at the Joint Mathematics Meetings every January. The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding achievements in any area of mathematics education, to be interpreted in the broadest possible sense. The 2013 Hay Award will be presented at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in San Diego, CA, January 2013.
The nomination should include: a one- to three-page letter of nomination highlighting the exceptional contributions of the candidate to be recognized; a curriculum vitae of the candidate not to exceed three pages; and three letters supporting the nomination. It is strongly recommended that the letters represent a range of constituents affected by the nominee’s work. Nominations are kept active for two additional years.
Nomination materials for this award to should be compiled into one PDF file and submitted online at https://www.mathprograms.org/db/programs/123 by April 30, 2012.

AWM/NSF Travel Grants
Deadline: May 1, 2012
Please note that the next deadline for the AWM/NSF Travel Grant is May 1, 2012. The Association for Women in Mathematics travel program supports women mathematicians attending mathematics conferences.
For complete eligibility and application details please visit http://www.awm-math.org/travelgrants.html. All applications are now submitted via an online system.
The Travel Grant Program is sponsored by the National Science Foundation Division of Mathematical Sciences (DMS).

The Eleventh Annual Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences
Call for nominations: deadline June 29, 2012
The Section on Statistical Genetics and the Department of Biostatistics in the School of Public Health, University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) are pleased to request nominations for the Eleventh Annual Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences. The award will be conferred on September 12, 2012. The award recipient will be invited to deliver a lecture at the UAB award ceremony, and will receive all expenses, the award, and a $5,000 prize.
Eligible individuals are women who have completed their terminal degree, have made extraordinary contributions and have an outstanding record of service to the statistical sciences, with an emphasis on both their own scholarship and on teaching and leadership of the field in general and of women in particular and who, if selected, are willing to deliver a lecture at the award ceremony. For additional details about the award, please visit our website at http://www.soph.uab.edu/ssg/norwoodaward/aboutaward.
How to nominate: Please send a full curriculum vitae accompanied by a letter of not more than two pages in length describing the nature of the candidate’s contributions. Contributions may be in the area of development and evaluation of statistical methods, teaching of statistics, application of statistics, or any other activity that can arguably be said to have advanced the field of statistical science. Self-nominations are acceptable.
Please send nominations to David B. Allison, PhD (Distinguished Professor; Quetelet Endowed Professor of Public Health; Associate Dean for Science; Director, Office of Energetics; Director, Nutrition Obesity Research Center) e dallison@uab.edu
The deadline for receipt of nominations is June 29, 2012. Electronic submissions of nominations are encouraged. The winner will be announced by July 6.
Previous Recipients: Jane F. Gentleman (2002); Nan M. Laird (2003); Alice S. Whittemore (2004); Clarice R. Weinberg (2005); Janet Turk Wittes (2006); Marie Davidian (2007); Xihong Lin (2008); Nancy Geller (2009); L. Adrienne Cupples (2010); Lynne Billard (2011).

Parzen Prize for Statistical Innovation
Deadline: June 15, 2012
To promote the dissemination of statistical innovation, the Emanuel and Carol Parzen Prize for Statistical Innovation is awarded in even numbered years to a North American statistician whose outstanding research contributions include innovations that have had impact on practice, and whose PhD degree is at least 25 years old.
The Parzen Prize is awarded by the Department of Statistics at Texas A&M University and is selected by the members of the Parzen Prize Committee (consisting of three internal faculty members and two external faculty members). The prize consists of an honorarium of $1000 and travel to College Station, Texas to present a lecture at the Prize Ceremony.
Nominations for the 2012 Parzen Prize should include a letter describing the nominee’s outstanding contributions to high impact innovative research in statistics, a current curriculum vita, and two supporting letters. Nominations should be submitted by June 15, 2012 to the Chair of the 2012 Parzen Prize Committee:
Prof. Thomas Wehrly
Department of Statistics, Texas A&M University
College Station, TX 77843-3143
For more information on the Parzen Prize, please visit http://www.stat.tamu.edu/events/parzenprize/index.html.


Leave a comment




Welcome to the IMS Bulletin website! We are developing the way we communicate news and information more effectively with members. The print Bulletin is still with us (free with IMS membership), and still available as a PDF to download, but in addition, we are placing some of the news, columns and articles on this blog site, which will allow you the opportunity to interact more. We are always keen to hear from IMS members, and encourage you to write articles and reports that other IMS members would find interesting. Contact the IMS Bulletin at bulletin@imstat.org

What is “Open Forum”?

In the Open Forum, any IMS member can propose a topic for discussion. Email your subject and an opening paragraph (to bulletin@imstat.org) and we'll post it to start off the discussion. Other readers can join in the debate by commenting on the post. Search other Open Forum posts by using the Open Forum category link below. Start a discussion today!

About IMS

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics is an international scholarly society devoted to the development and dissemination of the theory and applications of statistics and probability. We have about 4,500 members around the world. Visit IMS at http://imstat.org
Latest Issue