Nov 17, 2013

COPSS Awards 2014: nominations open

Each year, the statistical profession recognizes outstanding members at the Joint Statistical Meetings in an awards ceremony organized by the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (COPSS). Nominations are an important part of the process, and everyone can contribute—from the newly minted PhD graduate to the pharmaceutical statistician to the longtime professor. All statisticians see excellence in their mentors, colleagues, and management and it’s important to single out those persons who make exceptional contributions to the profession. So take a few minutes, review the various awards on tap this year, and see if you can identify worthy individuals.

The following awards are being presented at the 2014 JSM in Boston, Massachusetts.

The Fisher Lectureship is awarded yearly for outstanding contributions to aspects of statistics and probability that closely relate to the scientific collection and interpretation of data. The award exists to recognize the importance of statistical methods for scientific investigations. The awardee’s hour-long lecture is delivered during JSM. Eligible nominations should be sent in PDF format by December 15, 2013 to the Fisher Award committee chair, Terry Speed at

The Presidents’ Award is presented yearly in recognition of outstanding contributions to the statistics profession. It is typically granted to an individual who has not yet reached his or her 41st birthday. In the special case of an individual who has received his or her statistically related terminal degree fewer than 12 years prior to the nomination deadline, the individual will be eligible if he or she has not yet reached his or her 46th birthday during the year of the award. Eligible nominations should include a current curriculum vitae, the nominee’s date of birth, a nomination letter (up to three pages), and up to five supporting letters. Nominations should be sent in PDF format by January 15, 2014, to the Presidents’ Award committee chair. Ray Carroll at

The Elizabeth L. Scott Award is presented biennially (even years) to an individual who has helped foster opportunities in statistics for women and exemplifies the contributions of Elizabeth Scott’s lifelong efforts to further the careers of women in academia. Nominations should be sent by January 15, 2014, to the Elizabeth Scott Award committee chair Shirley Mills at

These awards are jointly sponsored by the American Statistical Association, Institute of Mathematical Statistics, International Biometric Society (ENAR and WNAR), and Statistical Society of Canada. They represent a discipline-wide acknowledgment of the outstanding contributions of statisticians, regardless of their affiliations with any professional society.
For detailed award criteria and nominating procedures, see the COPSS website at


Leave a comment




Welcome to the IMS Bulletin website! We are developing the way we communicate news and information more effectively with members. The print Bulletin is still with us (free with IMS membership), and still available as a PDF to download, but in addition, we are placing some of the news, columns and articles on this blog site, which will allow you the opportunity to interact more. We are always keen to hear from IMS members, and encourage you to write articles and reports that other IMS members would find interesting. Contact the IMS Bulletin at

What is “Open Forum”?

In the Open Forum, any IMS member can propose a topic for discussion. Email your subject and an opening paragraph (to and we'll post it to start off the discussion. Other readers can join in the debate by commenting on the post. Search other Open Forum posts by using the Open Forum category link below. Start a discussion today!

About IMS

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics is an international scholarly society devoted to the development and dissemination of the theory and applications of statistics and probability. We have about 4,500 members around the world. Visit IMS at
Latest Issue