Oct 1, 2018

Call for Nominations: Ethel Newbold Prize

The Newbold Prize Committee invites nominations for the Ethel Newbold Prize.
The Ethel Newbold Prize for excellence in statistics is awarded every two years, next time in spring 2019. The name of the prize recognizes a historically important role of women in statistics. The prize itself is for excellence in statistics without reference to the gender of the recipient. The Ethel Newbold Prize is generously supported by Wiley.
The Ethel Newbold Prize is to be awarded to an outstanding statistical scientist in early or mid-career for a body of work that represents excellence in research in mathematical statistics and/or excellence in research that links developments in a substantive field to new advances in statistics.

In any year in which the award is due, the prize will not be awarded unless the set of all nominations includes candidates from both genders.

The award consists of the prize amount of 2500€ together with an award certificate.

For this call, the prize winner will be selected in spring 2019. The prize will be awarded at a following Bernoulli World Congress, Bernoulli-sponsored major conference, or ISI World Statistics Congress. The awardee will also be invited to present a talk at one of these conferences.

Further information about the Ethel Newbold Prize (and other prizes of the Bernoulli Society) may be found at http://www.bernoulli-society.org/index.php/prizes.

Submission of nominations
Each nomination should include a letter outlining the case in support of the nominee, along with a curriculum vitae. Nominations as well as any inquiries about the award should be sent to Oddbjorg Wethelund, Department of Mathematics, Aarhus University, email: oddbjorg@math.au.dk. The deadline for accepting nominations is November 30, 2018.

Ethel May Newbold (1882–1933) was an English statistician and the first woman to be awarded the Guy Medal in Silver by the Royal Statistical Society, in 1928. Her obituary, written by Major Greenwood, is at http://www.jstor.org/stable/2341811

The Newbold Prize Committee members are Eva B. Vedel Jensen (chair), Gesine Reinert and Jon A. Wellner.


Leave a comment



Welcome to the IMS Bulletin website! We are developing the way we communicate news and information more effectively with members. The print Bulletin is still with us (free with IMS membership), and still available as a PDF to download, but in addition, we are placing some of the news, columns and articles on this blog site, which will allow you the opportunity to interact more. We are always keen to hear from IMS members, and encourage you to write articles and reports that other IMS members would find interesting. Contact the IMS Bulletin at bulletin@imstat.org

What is “Open Forum”?

In the Open Forum, any IMS member can propose a topic for discussion. Email your subject and an opening paragraph (to bulletin@imstat.org) and we'll post it to start off the discussion. Other readers can join in the debate by commenting on the post. Search other Open Forum posts by using the Open Forum category link below. Start a discussion today!

About IMS

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics is an international scholarly society devoted to the development and dissemination of the theory and applications of statistics and probability. We have about 4,500 members around the world. Visit IMS at http://imstat.org
Latest Issue