Oct 1, 2018

David Donoho’s Gauss Award

David Donoho is the recipient of the 2018 Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize, the major prize in applied mathematics awarded jointly by the International Mathematical Union (IMU) and the German Mathematical Union. Bestowed every four years since 2006, the prize honors scientists whose mathematical research has generated important applications beyond the mathematical field—in technology, in business, or in people’s everyday lives—and this award acknowledges David’s impact on a whole generation of mathematical scientists.

David Donoho. Photo: IMU


David Donoho was commended by the IMU President Shigefumi Mori for his “fundamental contribution to mathematics” during the opening ceremony of ICM 2018 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

After the award was announced, David spoke of the joy he has experienced when theories he has developed earlier in his career are applied to everyday life. “There are things I’ve done decades ago, and when I see things happen in the real world, it makes me so proud. The power we have in moving the world gives me a great deal of satisfaction in my career choice.”

He said that a career in math is not limited to pure math, and publication in journals. “There are so many relations between math and the rest of the world. We see more and more relations over time; so much in the modern world is underpinned by math,” he said, citing the example of smartphones, and the vast level of mathematical fundamentals intertwined, such as prime factorization.

David Donoho, who was born in California in 1957, dedicates his professional life to statistics, information theory and applied mathematics. He has made fundamental contributions to theoretical and computational statistics throughout his career, as well as to signal processing and harmonic analysis. His algorithms have made significant contributions to the understanding of the maximum entropy principle, the structure of robust procedures, and sparse data description.

David Donoho is the Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor in the Humanities and Sciences, and Professor of Statistics, at Stanford University; he previously taught at UC Berkeley, and he holds a summa cum laude degree from Princeton University, as well as a PhD in statistics from Harvard University. He has worked in various industries, including oil exploitation, information technology, and quantitative finance. He has previously been awarded the MacArthur Fellowship (1991), the COPSS Presidents’ Award (1994), the Norbert Wiener (2010), and the Shaw Prize (2013).

The Gauss prize is a tribute to the German mathematician Carl Friedrich Gauss (1777–1855), who made important contributions to number theory, statistics, mathematical analysis, differential geometry, geophysics, astronomy and optics.


Leave a comment



Welcome to the IMS Bulletin website! We are developing the way we communicate news and information more effectively with members. The print Bulletin is still with us (free with IMS membership), and still available as a PDF to download, but in addition, we are placing some of the news, columns and articles on this blog site, which will allow you the opportunity to interact more. We are always keen to hear from IMS members, and encourage you to write articles and reports that other IMS members would find interesting. Contact the IMS Bulletin at bulletin@imstat.org

What is “Open Forum”?

In the Open Forum, any IMS member can propose a topic for discussion. Email your subject and an opening paragraph (to bulletin@imstat.org) and we'll post it to start off the discussion. Other readers can join in the debate by commenting on the post. Search other Open Forum posts by using the Open Forum category link below. Start a discussion today!

About IMS

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics is an international scholarly society devoted to the development and dissemination of the theory and applications of statistics and probability. We have about 4,500 members around the world. Visit IMS at http://imstat.org
Latest Issue