May 15, 2019

IMS Hannan Graduate Student Travel Awards

The ten winners of this year’s Hannan Travel Awards are: Satwik Acharyya, Texas A&M University; Joshua J. Bon, Queensland University of Technology; Jeremiah Zhe Liu, Harvard University; Hyeyoung Maeng, London School of Economics; Abhijoy Saha, The Ohio State University; Martin Wiegand, University of Manchester; Fei Xue, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Ting Ye, University of Wisconsin–Madison; Shan Yu, Iowa State University; Yichen Zhang, New York University. Congratulations!


Pictured here, listed alphabetically, clockwise from top left:


Leave a comment



Welcome to the IMS Bulletin website! We are developing the way we communicate news and information more effectively with members. The print Bulletin is still with us (free with IMS membership), and still available as a PDF to download, but in addition, we are placing some of the news, columns and articles on this blog site, which will allow you the opportunity to interact more. We are always keen to hear from IMS members, and encourage you to write articles and reports that other IMS members would find interesting. Contact the IMS Bulletin at

What is “Open Forum”?

In the Open Forum, any IMS member can propose a topic for discussion. Email your subject and an opening paragraph (to and we'll post it to start off the discussion. Other readers can join in the debate by commenting on the post. Search other Open Forum posts by using the Open Forum category link below. Start a discussion today!

About IMS

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics is an international scholarly society devoted to the development and dissemination of the theory and applications of statistics and probability. We have about 4,500 members around the world. Visit IMS at
Latest Issue