Browsing articles in "Member news"

Members’ News: April/May 2012

Featuring news items about Ming Yuan, Allan Sly, Sebastien Roch, CR Rao


Members’ News: March 2012

Featuring news items about Peter Glynn, Michael Waterman, Claudia Neuhauser, George Casella, Dipak Dey, Wing Kam Fung, Sastry Pantula, Xiaotong Shen, Sudipto Banerjee, Jiti Gao, Stefano Iacus, Ranjan Maitra, Axel Munk, Haiyan Wang, Judith Rousseau


IMS Journal News: AOS, AAP, EJP, ECP

New Editors for Annals of Statistics Peter Hall and Runze Li will serve as Editors of The Annals of Statistics for the three-year term January 1, 2013 to December 31, [ More.. ]


ISOSS meeting, new President

The 11th biennial Islamic Countries Conference on Statistical Sciences (ICCS-11) has elected Professor Ali S. Hadi of The American University of Cairo (AUC), Egypt as the new President of the [ More.. ]


Members’ News: January/February 2012

Featuring news items about Itai Benjamini, Johan Fellman, Michael Akritas, S.N. Lahiri, Dimitris Politis, Jerome Reiter, Alan Karr, S. Rao Jammalamadaka, and the IMS online journals Electronic Journal of Probability and Electronic Communications in Probability


Members’ News: December 2011

Featuring news items about Krzysztof Burdzy, Laurent Saloff-Coste, Michel Ledoux, Anton Bovier, Michael Longnecker, James J. Cochran, Xuming He


S.R.S. Varadhan: profile of the National Medal of Science recipient

Alain-Sol Sznitman, ETH Zurich, profiles former IMS president S.R.S. Varadhan, who, as reported in the last issue, has been named a recipient of the US National Medal of Science. The [ More.. ]


COPSS Awards

In the last issue, we reported on the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (COPSS) awards, presented at its annual ceremony at JSM in Miami Beach on August 3 by [ More.. ]


Members’ News: October/November 2011

Featuring news about SRS Varadhan, Emery Brown, Wayne Fuller, Nat Schenker, J.T.Gene Hwang, Runze Li, Deborah A. Nolan, Dimitris Politis, Donglin Zeng, Hongtu Zhu, Keith Baggerly, Tianxi Cai, James J. Cochran, Paul A. Gustafson, J. Michael Hardin, Dominique Haughton, Alan Hutson, Patricia A. Jacobs, Zhezhen Jin, Grace E. Kissling, Kalimuthu Krishnamoorthy, Kenneth L. Lange, Peter J. Lenk, Faming Liang, Aiyi Liu, Ying Lu, Ranjan Maitra, Jeffrey S. Morris, Christopher Nachtsheim, J. Sunil Rao, Jerome P. Reiter, Venkatraman E. Seshan, Thomas A. Severini, Julia Volaufova, Lijian Yang, James Rosenberger, Jessica Utts, Daniela Witten, Genevera Allen, Qunhua Li, Jessica Minnier, Layla Parast, Sihai Dave Zhao, Nick Horton, Paul Meier


Members’ News: September 2011

Featuring news items about Christian Genest, CR Rao, Joe Glaz, Xuming He, Jean-Pierre Fouque, and Craig A. Tracy


New IMS Executive Secretary

Aurore Delaigle will become the IMS’s Executive Secretary from August 2, 2011 to July 9, 2014, following Marten Wegkamp’s three-year term. Aurore is a Principal Research Fellow in the Department [ More.. ]


2011 IMS Election Results

We are pleased to announce the results of the 2011 IMS elections. The next President-Elect is Hans R. Künsch. The five new Council members, for a three-year term, are: Sandrine [ More.. ]


Distinguished Professor Bani Mallick

Bani K. Mallick has been promoted to distinguished professor in the department of statistics at Texas A&M University. Mallick is a pioneer researcher in the field of Bayesian nonparametric regression [ More.. ]


Dipak Dey associate dean of University of Connecticut College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Dipak K. Dey, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor at the Department of Statistics, has stepped down as head of the department and has joined the administration of the College of [ More.. ]


Marie Davidian elected ASA President-elect

Marie Davidian, North Carolina State University, has been voted the next President-elect of the American Statistical Association. She will serve as ASA President during 2012. IMS Fellow Marie Davidian is [ More.. ]



Welcome to the IMS Bulletin website! We are developing the way we communicate news and information more effectively with members. The print Bulletin is still with us (free with IMS membership), and still available as a PDF to download, but in addition, we are placing some of the news, columns and articles on this blog site, which will allow you the opportunity to interact more. We are always keen to hear from IMS members, and encourage you to write articles and reports that other IMS members would find interesting. Contact the IMS Bulletin at

What is “Open Forum”?

In the Open Forum, any IMS member can propose a topic for discussion. Email your subject and an opening paragraph (to and we'll post it to start off the discussion. Other readers can join in the debate by commenting on the post. Search other Open Forum posts by using the Open Forum category link below. Start a discussion today!

About IMS

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics is an international scholarly society devoted to the development and dissemination of the theory and applications of statistics and probability. We have about 4,500 members around the world. Visit IMS at
Latest Issue